U.S. Amateur: Segundo Oliva Pinto loses just after caddie touches sand (video clip)

U.S. Amateur: Segundo Oliva Pinto loses after caddie touches sand (video)

That’s an amateur miscalculation

A golfer competing in the round of 16 at the U.S. Newbie Championships in Oregon was eliminated on Thursday immediately after dropping his match on the closing hole—not due to the fact of nearly anything he did, although. 

Segundo Oliva Pinto was tied with Tyler Strafaci heading into the final gap and put his third shot on the par-5 hole into a greenside bunker. Oliva Pinto could even now get up and down to conserve par but rather instantly forfeited the gap thanks to the steps of his caddie.  

The caddie stepped into the bunker and brushed the sand with his hand. Which is a violation of USGA rule 12.2 (b), which states you have to not “deliberately touch sand in the bunker with your hand, a club or rake or any other item to check the problem of the sand and learn information and facts for your subsequent stroke.” The very same goes for the player’s caddie, who could relay the facts to the player. In stroke engage in, it is a two-stroke penalty. In match play, you automatically forfeit the hole. Considering that Oliva Pinto and Strafaci ended up tied, the blunder handed the victory to Strafaci. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *