Novak Djokovic was disqualified from the US Open after hitting a referee streak with the ball.
The world’s No. 1 player had just dropped his serve behind opponent Pablo Carreno Busta 6-5 in the opening set of the fourth round match at Arthur Ashe Stadium.
He hit a ball behind him in frustration and the ball hit the female streak judge. After hitting the ball, it immediately became clear that she was injured and the Serbian player rushed to check its condition.
Tournament referee Soeren Friemel got out on the field and spoke to referee Aurelie Tourte and Andreas Egli, Grand Slam’s supervisor, before a lengthy discussion between tournament officials and Djokovic.
He pleaded in his case at length before accepting his fate, collected his racket and left the court.
According to the Grand Slam rulebook, after his actions of dangerously or recklessly hitting the ball on the field or hitting the ball with negligent consequences, US Open referee defaults to Novak Djokovic from the 2020 US Open. Due to default, he will lose. Djokovic all ranking points earned at the US Open and he will be fined from prize money won in the tournament plus any or all fines levied in connection with the offending incident.
USTA Statement on Default of Novak Djokovic
Djokovic will face another fine for failing to hold his press conference. Shortly after the accident, the 33-year-old is photographed riding in a black Tesla and leaving Flushing Meadows.
View this post on Instagram
This whole situation has left me really sad and empty. I checked the person’s lines and the heroism told me that thank God she was fine. I’m so sorry I caused her such pressure. This is not intended. that’s wrong. I do not disclose her name to respect her privacy. As for elimination, I need to go back in and work on my disappointment and turn all of this into a lesson for growth and development as a player and as a human being. I apologize for the usopen starring and everyone related to my behavior. I am very grateful to my team and family for their rock support, and to the fans for always being with me. Thank you and I am very sorry. This whole situation makes me really sad and empty. I checked the judge’s sentiments in writing, and according to the information I have received, he feels good, thank God. I can not reveal her name in order to protect her privacy. I’m so sorry I caused her such pressure. It was not intended. was wrong. I want to turn this unpleasant experience, my disqualification, into an important life lesson, so I can continue to grow and develop as a person, but also as a tennis player. I apologize to the US Open organizers. I am very grateful to my team and family for giving me strong support, and also to my fans because they are always with me. Thank you and I’m sorry. This was a difficult day for everyone.
Djokovic later apologized in a statement on Instagram, saying, “This whole situation left me really sad and empty. I checked the person’s lines and the heroism told me that thank God she was fine.
“I am so sorry that I caused her such pressure. Unintended. Very wrong. I do not disclose her name to respect her privacy.
“In terms of exclusion, I need to go back inside and work on my disappointment and turn all of this into a lesson for growth and development as a player and as a human being.
“I apologize for usopen and everyone related to my behavior. I am very grateful to my team and my family for their rock support, and my fans for always being with me. Thank you and I am very sorry.”
It was a shocking end to the number one’s hopes of winning the 18th Grand Slam title and also ended his winning streak 26-0 since the start of the year, albeit in strange circumstances.
Carino Busta will now face the quarter-final against Denis Shapovalov or seventh seed David Goffin.
Djokovic’s elimination means that for the first time since Marin Cilic won the US Open in 2014, there will be a new champion in the men’s Grand Slam.
Second seed Dominic Timm, a final runner-up who lost three times, is now the highest-ranked player remaining.
He has been criticized for organizing an Adria Tour event in June, in which he and several players were tested for COVID-19.
He then threw a bomb on the eve of the Open Championship by announcing his resignation as the chair of the ATP Players Council in front of the ATP Players Association (PTPA).
Opponent, Carreno Busta, says Novak is bad luck
Spanish competitor Carreño Busta said this was not how he wanted to reach the quarter-finals.
Speaking during his press conference, seed No. 20 said: “I didn’t see the moment he threw the ball. I was looking forward to my coach, celebrating a break. And when I got back again, the rule of the line was on the ground.
“I’m very apprehensive about this kind of thing, so I was a little shocked. I ask the Colombian players who were in the crowd if the ball hit the referee and I was in shock. I never expected this. The moment of playing against Novak, you know. It was a difficult moment. For me too. “
I think it was bad luck. You can’t do that, but of course I think Novak never wants to clash with judgment.
Pablo Carreno Busta on the Djokovic incident
He added, “They were talking on the net, I’m just trying to focus if we have to keep playing.”
“It was 10 minutes or 15 minutes. But it was a bit cold so I have to be ready in case we have to keep going. I just ask him. [the umpire]Then I finally give me Novak the hand. This is.
“I think it was bad luck. You can’t do that, but of course I think Novak, never, never wants to be judged. I’m so sorry for that, because it’s not the way I want to be.” [the] Quarter-finals. I was playing my game, I was playing really well and I was enjoying the game. “
Unbelievable Embed a Tweet I have stumbled. This was the correct decision under the rules regardless of intent or not. Novak should have stayed to attend the press conference and apologize. We must take responsibility for our actions no matter how difficult the situation is.
– Greg Rusidsky (@ gregRusedski1) 6 September 2020
Zverev is in shock
Fifth Classifier Alexander ZverevHe, who reached the last eight with a 6-2 6-2 6-1 victory over Alejandro Davidovic Fukina, said he was in shock.
The German said, “He hit a tennis ball. It is very unfortunate that he hit the referee, especially where I hit it. There is a rule in place. I think the supervisors are all just doing their job but very unlucky.”
“I don’t know what to say. I’m a little shocked now.”
Zverev has become one of the new contenders for the cup, adding: “Now I think this is the time when it gets really fun. I know who I can play. I know who the rest of the players can play. We’ll see where we go from here.”
Maclagan: No choice but to use the default Novak
Miles McLagan, former coach Laura Robson and Andy Murray, said he was “extremely stunned” by Djokovic’s actions.
Speaking to Sky Sports News, he said: “It was not intended but the rules state that although it was not intended, he shot a ball with great force and hit a lady in her throat, so there was no choice but to default.
“Maybe a little easier because of the empty stadium, I think it was hard to do in front of 23,000 fans.
“Just when you don’t think this tournament could get any more weird – the obvious favorite faltered, completely dumbfounded.
“There was a long discussion with Djokovic and the referee we couldn’t hear it and we asked what was going on but in the end it was the right decision.”
Unbelievable what happened just in court at usopen Novak Djokovic failed to fall inadvertently, but stupidly hit a woman in the throat with a ball and the referees had no choice but to fall short. wow…#Sad
Pleased that the woman is okay – we must do better.
Martina Navratilova (@martina) 6 September 2020
Djokovic isn’t the first player to default on something similar, but for it to happen in a Grand Slam tournament and as the tournament’s favorite, it’s an exceptional situation.
Canadian Denis Shapovalov defaulted during a Davis Cup match against Great Britain in 2017 after he hit a ball in anger that hit referee Arno Gabbas.
Meanwhile, Tim Hinman was disqualified from Wimbledon 25 years ago for hitting a girl with the ball during a doubles match.
Talking on Amazon PrimeThere is no doubt that it was the right decision. It’s amazing to me to talk about this because it happened to me at Wimbledon in 1995. That was a moment of frustration, and I hit the ball away when I wasn’t looking and hit a girl in my ears.
“I was shocked, embarrassed and very disappointed.”
This year’s US Open is the first major tournament without a previous Grand Slam champion among quarter-finalists since Wimbledon 2003. [won by Roger Federer].
David Nalbandian kicked an ad hoarding during the Queen’s Final in 2012, injuring a linear judge, and it was fizzled.