Scholz maintains its support for Schengen entry from Romania and Bulgaria

This content was published on Dec 08, 2022 – 19:01

Berlin, Dec. 8 (EFE). – The German Chancellor, Olaf Scholz, today endorsed his support for entering the Schengen Area in Bulgaria and Romania, in the face of the veto imposed by Austria, and assured that his government would do so. Continue to attempt both countries to achieve this goal, as Croatia has now accomplished.

“Our government’s position in favor of this entry is well known,” said the German chancellor, in an appearance to the media following his meeting with the country’s regional heads of government, adding that her chief executive will continue to support the aspirations of the two countries. .

Schulz’s statement follows the decision taken today by EU interior ministers, who gave the go-ahead for Schegen’s extension for Croatia from January 1, but not for Romania and Bulgaria.

Both countries were denied entry by Austria, while only Bulgaria was denied entry by the Netherlands.

Austria’s interior minister, Martin Kucher, argued that the large numbers of migrants who have crossed its borders this year, mostly illegally, have been rejected.

Currently, the Schengen Area consists of 22 EU countries, as well as four countries from outside the community’s territory (Liechtenstein, Iceland, Norway, and Switzerland). EFE


� EFE 2022. Redistribution and redistribution of all or part of the contents of the Efe Services is expressly prohibited, without the prior and express consent of Agencia EFE SA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.