Canada will seek its first Davis Cup tournament against Australia, which will be held in its 29th edition

First Amendment: Last update:

Malaga (Spain) (AFP) – The 2022 Davis Cup final, which will be held on Sunday in Malaga, will face Canada, which is seeking its first title with Australia, who have not won the tournament since 2003.

Canada qualified for the final for the second time since 2019 by defeating Italy 2-1 in the second semi-final on Saturday.

Felix Auger-Aliassime and Vasek Pospisil scored the decisive point against Matteo Berrettini and Fabio Fognini, defeating the Italians 7-6 (7/2), 7-5 in the doubles match.

Lorenzo Sonego had given Italy the lead in their first singles match against Denis Shapovalov 7-6 (7/4), 6-7 (5/7), 6-4, but Auger-Aliassime equalized again by defeating Lorenzo Musetti with a score of 6-3 and 6-4.

Australia, who beat Croatia 2-1 in the semi-finals on Friday, are the second most successful team in Davis Cup history with 28 titles, but have not reached the final since their last title in 2003.

Canada lost its last final, already with Auger-Aliassime and Shapovalov, in 2019 against Spain’s Rafael Nadal.

Spain, without Nadal or world number one Carlos Alcaraz, lost in the quarter-finals to Croatia.

Defending champions Russia were excluded from the competition due to the invasion of Ukraine.

Second semi-final results:

Canada beat Italy 2-1

Lorenzo Sonego (Italy) defeats Denis Shapovalov (Canada) 7-6 (7/4), 6-7 (5/7), 6-4

Felix Auger-Aliassime (Canada) defeats Lorenzo Musetti (Italy) 6-3, 6-4

Felix Auger-Aliassime / Vasek Pospisil (Canada) beat Matteo Berrettini / Fabio Fognini (Italy) 7-6 (7/2), 7-5.

See also  Bye El Salvador? Enrico Duñas Hernandez confirms that Finland asked him out

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.